Football Awards Announced for 2007 Campaign

Print      Apply

Van Zanic

Director of Sports Information

(724) 847-6886



March 18, 2008


Beaver Falls, PA - Geneva′s first football season as a member of the Presidents′ Athletic Conference and NCAA Division III was nothing short of a success. The Golden Tornadoes finished the season with an 8-3 record, including their fifth trip to the NCCAA Victory Bowl. In addition to participating in the NCCAA title game, Geneva was also offered a bid to participate in an ECAC Bowl game, which it was forced to decline for the Victory Bowl.

Geneva finished the season with a 7-1 record against PAC opponents, including victories over Thiel, Grove City, Bethany, Saint Vincent, Waynesburg, Westminster and Thomas More.

Geneva′s football team celebrated its successful campaign this past weekend with its annual banquet. During the night, Geneva′s coaching staff announced the 2007 team award winners, which included a new twist this season. The football program wanted to highlight the local steel industry with three new awards for their players. Included were the Lunch Pail Award, Hard Hat Award and Welder′s Shield Award. The Lunch Pail award was given to the lineman with the best work ethic, while the Hard Hat award was handed out to the best work ethic/performance by a member of the entire football team. Finally, the Welder′s Shield was given to the best work ethic/performance for a skilled position player.

Six other awards were handed out to highlight some of the past greats of Geneva football. Those awards are as followed:

Ed Hartman Award (Outstanding Christian Character) - Ken Frederick

Gene Sullivan Award (Outstanding Coachable Spirit) - Gabe Gordon and Matt Dean

Cal Hubbard Award (Most Improved Defensive Player) - Rich Kolesar

Cliff Aultman Award (Most Improved Special Teams Player) - Andy Stopchick

Larry Bruno Award (Most Improved Offensive Player) - Scott Koenig

Paul Pupi Award (Leadership, Athletics and Academics) - Brad Roman

Lunch Pail Award - Luke Shuster

Hard Hat Award - Greg Eberhart

Welder′s Shield Award - Bobby Bondi